to the 50th Congress but resigned after he had been elected United States Senator in 1887.

In the 50th Congress, beginning March 4, 1887 and lasting to March 3, 1889, the Houston County District was represented by William H. Martin of Athens, Texas, who was elected to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of John H. Reagan, and took his seat December 5, 1887. He was known as "Howdy" Martin. He also represented the district in the 51st Congress lasting from March 4, 1889 to March 3, 1891.

In the 52nd Congress, March 4, 1881 to March 3, 1893, John B. Long of Rusk represented the district that included Houston County.

In the 53rd Congress, March 4, 1893 to March 3, 1895, Samuel B. Cooper of Woodville represented the district which included Houston County. He continued to represent the district in the 54th, 55th, 56th, 57th and 58th Congresses and was succeeded in 1905 by Alexander W. Gregg of Palestine. He continued to represent the district until 1919, and was succeeded by Clay Stone Briggs of Galveston, who continued to represent the district until his death, when he was succeeded by ----Thompson of Galveston, who served one term and was succeeded by Nat Patton, our present representative.

## DISTRICT JUDGES

None of the earlier District Judges were from Houston County. In 1847, Amos Clark was district judge of the judicial district which included Houston County.

When courts were first established in 1837, practically all of Texas East of the Trinity River was included in the First District. In 1840, the Republic was re-districted and the counties of Houston, San Augustine and Nacogdoches were included in the 5th District, the earliest judges having been George W. Terrell, Wm. B. Ochiltree and Royall T. Wheeler, the latter having been one of the eminent judges of the Supreme Court.

In 1861, Judge Richard S. Walker of Nacogdoches was judge of the 5th District. He was the son-in-law of his predecessor, Judge Amos Clark. He was elected district judge in 1861, and served until 1864. Later Peyton F. Edwards of Nacogdoches was judge of the 5th District.

In 1880 W. D. Wood was district judge of the 4th Judicial

District which included Houston County. He was succeeded by

J. R. Kennard of Navasota in 1881.

In 1884 the Third Judicial District, consisting of Houston, Anderson and Henderson Counties was created and the first judge of this district was Judge F. A. Williams of Crockett. Outside of Judge W. M. Taylor, he was the first district judge from Houston County. Judge W. M. Taylor was district judge prior to the creation of the Third Judicial District. Judge F. A. Williams served as district judge from 1884 until 1892, when he was elected associate justice of the First Court of Civil Appeals at Galveston. In 1893 W. Q. Reeves of Palestine was chosen district judge to succeed Judge F. A. Williams. In 1895, Judge I. R. Burnett of Palestine was elected judge of said district and held office for one term only. In 1897 Judge W. H. Gill of Palestine succeeded Judge J. R. Burnett, and held the office until he was appointed on the Court of Civil Appeals.

In 1900 Judge A. D. Lipscomb of Crockett was appointed to succeed Judge W. H. Gill and held office during the un-

expired term.

In 1901 Judge John Young Gooch of Palestine was elected

to succeed Judge A. D. Lipscomb.

Judge W. R. Bishop succeeded Judge John Young Gooch. In 1906, Judge B. H. Gardner of Palestine was elected judge and held the office until 1912.

In 1912 Judge John S. Prince of Athens was elected district

judge to succeed Judge B. H. Gardner.

Judge B. F. Dent of Crockett succeeded Judge Prince for district judge, and he in turn was succeeded by Judge Sam Holland, the present district judge.